Return to Headlines

A+ Education Foundation Honors Hutto ISD Staff with Grants

Four Hutto ISD staff members are among 86 educators in central Texas to be awarded grants recently announced by the A+ Education Foundation, the philanthropic arm of A+ Federal Credit Union (A+FCU).

The Hutto recipients are:
Sharon Case, Ray Elementary, $758.01 for "iCan with iPads;"
Kelly Hong, Veterans Hill Elementary and Cottonwood Creek Elementary, $999.99 for "Lights, Camera, Action! Elementary Students Video Projects;"
Angela Hartman, Hutto High School, $1,000 for "The Need to Read;" and
Andrew Haub, Hutto High School, $951.26 for "VEX Robotics Evolution."

"I am very proud of how these educators represent Hippo Nation through their innovation and commitment to inspiring excellence," said Hutto ISD Superintendent Dr. Celina Estrada Thomas. "Taking the time and making the effort to apply for grants is a great example of going above and beyond to help our students. I congratulate them!"

Started in 2005, the A+ Education Foundation has awarded 902 educators with over $834,000 in grants to fund innovative, inspiring, and engaging programs for their schools. A+ Federal Credit Union established the A+ Education Foundation Grant Program to provide grants to full-time educators of pre-kindergarten through 12th grades. These grants help fund materials, programs, and educator trainings, while providing enrichment opportunities for the grant recipients.

"We continue to be impressed by the submissions," said Kerry Parker, who is A+FCU CEO and A+ Educational Foundation President. "We are honored to support educators who encourage students learning with hands-on, interactive programs."

All grant recipients are listed on