Return to Headlines

Hutto ISD Purchasing Department Earns Award of Merit for 6th Straight Year

HUTTO, Texas – Hutto ISD is proud to be recognized by The Texas Association of School Business Officials (TASBO) with a 2024 Award of Merit for Purchasing Operations. This marks the sixth-straight year for the District to receive the accolades.

The Award of Merit was established in 2009 to recognize Texas school districts and education services centers that are committed to following professional standards in the acquisition of goods and services.

Todd Robison, Hutto ISD’s Director of Purchasing, expressed his appreciation of the District’s procurement staff and other stakeholders who have embraced their mission and are being recognized for their efforts.

“The primary mission of the Hutto ISD’s Purchasing Department is to purchase with consistent integrity, serve beyond expectation, and constantly evolve through the pursuit of knowledge, all towards the District’s mission of empowering future generations to succeed,” said Robison. “Ultimately, we are here for the students and are constantly striving to be the best at what we do to make sure the students and staff in Hippo Nation have the products and services needed to further their education and success.”

As Hutto ISD celebrates this year’s TASBO award, Chief Financial Officer Caleb Steed said the department was proud to once again be named a recipient. Steed praised the entire team’s work for making the award possible, and explained that the TASBO Award of Merit was especially meaningful this year as Hutto ISD continues implementation of its $522 million bond measure, approved by area voters last May.

“With the recent passing of our District’s largest-ever bond package, our processes will be scrutinized all the more by both our internal and external stakeholders,” Steed said. “Receiving this award gives us the confidence and recognition that our processes align with the best-in-class among Texas school district purchasing operations.”

Each year, volunteers with the TASBO Purchasing & Supply Management Research Committee evaluate the award criteria to ensure it represents the latest best practices. They then review new and recertification applications. For 2024, only 77 recipients met the stringent criteria to qualify for the award.

“We’re proud of the work our honorees do to streamline school purchasing operations, comply with regulations, and set the standard for how to utilize taxpayer dollars,” said Tracy Ginsburg, TASBO Executive Director. “These organizations have not only demonstrated their professional acumen by documenting their districts’ policies and procedures but have also shared these best practices with colleagues throughout Texas.”

Members of the district’s purchasing team will be honored at an awards reception sponsored by BuyBoard Purchasing Cooperative in Houston on Feb. 21 during the 2024 TASBO annual conference.