Return to Headlines

HHS Cheer Earns National Championship!

Congratulations to the Hutto High School Varsity Cheerleaders, who won their first National Championship at the National Cheerleaders Association High School National in Dallas January 25-26!

The NCA competition is the largest in the country, with over 248 schools and 38 states represented. It is considered the Super Bowl of cheer competition.

Varsity team members are:
Freshmen: Abigayle Fritz, Gabriella Sosby;
Sophomores:  Maddy Alvarez, Zoe Hopwood, Skylar Koontz, Isabella Limones, Katelyn Whitman;
Juniors: Lizbeth Benitez, Avery Bayles;
Seniors: Allison Boutwell, Tessa Brown, Joelle Gatti, Haley Moreno;
Alternates: Olivia Gonzales, Justine McDaniel, Dania Chavez, Kayleigh Loughrey

Previously, the varsity team had competed in this competition the past seven years and earned 2nd place three times and 3rd place twice. 

The team scored the highest they have ever scored (97.3) and defeated the 2nd place team by a full point. Cheerleading is judged similar to gymnastics (difficulty and technique).
The HHS JV team also competed and placed 4th.  Their score of 94.1 was the highest score the team has scored in the five years of attending.

The team is coached by Cari Wright, Ashtyn Colvin, and Jessica Schwerdtfeger.
Below are links to videos of the finals performance and the announcement of Hutto HS as champions!
National Championship banner for cheer
Varsity cheer with trophy

Cheer team posing
Cheer team winning the championship