• Jurisdiction and Authority

    Sworn members of the Hutto ISD Police Department are certified Peace Officers under Texas law and have full law enforcement authority granted to police officers under the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 14, including powers of arrest for all Federal and State laws within the State of Texas.  Hutto ISD Police Officers also have full traffic enforcement powers within their primary jurisdictional boundaries and when accompanying or escorting students, parents, or District staff on authorized District activities throughout the State of Texas.  

    The size of the Hutto ISD Police Department jurisdiction is approximately 75 square miles within Williamson County, Texas, encompassing and completely surrounding the City of Hutto.   
    During the past 10 years, the number of students attending Hutto ISD has increased from just over 1,000 students in one K-12 campus to more than 7,000 students at ten campuses, and enrollment continues to grow by nearly 300 students each year. District facilities currently include one high school, two middle schools, seven elementary schools and an alternative school, in addition to other properties within the county.
    The Hutto ISD Police Department has established "Memorandum of Understanding" agreements with the other law enforcement agencies who have concurrent jurisdiction within District boundaries, including:  Round Rock PD, the Williamson County Sheriff's Department, Hutto PD, Taylor PD, and the Williamson County Constable's Office, Precinct 4.
    As shown by the red boundary lines in the map below, the Hutto ISD Police Department jurisdiction extends roughly to the city limits of Georgetown in the north, the Travis County line to the south, into portions of the City of Round Rock on the west and into portions of the City of Taylor to the east.

Hutto ISD Jurisdiction Map with City Limits

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.